Media Advisory: 2018 Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame and Women of Tomorrow Honorees Announced

Media Advisory-2018 Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame and Women of Tomorrow Honorees Announced

March 15, 2018
Contact: Judith Vaughan-Prather
judith.vaughan-prather@maryland.gov, 301.610.4524

Baltimore- On March 15, 2018, the Maryland Commission for Women and the Women Legislators of the Maryland General Assembly will induct five women into the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame and will present “Women of Tomorrow” awards to five students during a 5:30 p.m. ceremony at the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis.

This year, the Hall of Fame inductees include an Assistant Maryland Attorney General, two educators and community leaders, Maryland’s first African American woman commissioned U.S. Air Force officer and a courageous enslaved woman.

The Women of Tomorrow Awards program, established in 1997, recognizes young women who have achieved records of academic excellence, extraordinary community service and outstanding leadership.

What: Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame Induction and Women of Tomorrow Ceremony

When: Thursday, March 15, 2018, 5:30 p.m.

Who: Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Sandra I. Barnes, Esq., Assistant Maryland Attorney General
  • Sandra Williams Ortega, Ph.D., Maryland’s First African American Woman Commissioned U.S. Air Force Officer
  • Emily Saunders Plummer (posthumous), Courageous Enslaved Woman, Inspiring Mother
  • Rita L. Robinson, Ph.D., Educator, Community Leader
  • Hattie N. Washington, Ph.D., Educator, Founder of Aunt Hattie’s Place
  • Women of Tomorrow honorees:

  • Vivian Flanagan, Severna Park High School, Anne Arundel County
  • Faith Kean, Winston Churchill High School, Montgomery County
  • Chelsea Mikal, Mt. Hebron High School, Howard County
  • Sarah Ronayne, Kent Island High School, Queen Anne’s county
  • Amelia Claire Smith, Walkersville Middle School, Frederick County
  • Media:Individual interview opportunity will be available after the ceremony. B-roll opportunity is available prior and post event.

    Contact: Judith Vaughan-Prather, judith.vaughan-prather@maryland.gov, 301.610.4524

    Filed in: DHS News

    Recent Posts


    © DHS News. All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.